Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
11

Your Pain, Your Teacher

A personal story that changed my outlook on pain & a meditation to help you manage your pain
11

A couple of weeks ago I read a stunning essay by

, My Theory of Everything - What I learned about almost losing a piece of myself in which she also mentioned a persistent lower backache that she was slowly recovering from. I was very moved by this essay, but as a yoga teacher, I immediately wished that I could teleport myself to Martha’s home and do a gentle yoga practice with her that might help ease her pain.

A video about this topic is not quite the same as an in-person yoga session, but in this 10 minute video I will speak about

  1. My approach to teaching my ‘Yoga Clinic’ classes as a way of healing.

  2. A personal story of how I learned (the hard way) to take better care of myself that I hope will inspire you to take better care of yourself.

  3. A mindset shift that can help you see your pain as your teacher, as well as practice more self-compassion.

In the following short audio I offer a simple meditation that you can do any time you feel pain, or discomfort, or just wish to get in touch with your body.

0:00
-9:15

Aspects that I mention in the audio that I would like to expand on here:

I see ‘yoga’ as a comprehensive practice that goes beyond asana (postures). An integral part of this practice is the yogic principles of ahimsa (non-violence) and satya (truthfulness). Therefore, I always encourage you to check-in with yourself to see whether you continue to respect your physical abilities (and limitations) on the given day, and soften, rather than push yourself into a posture. Needless to say, the greatest lesson that yoga has to teach us is how to respect these principles off the mat, in life. So I invite you to consider this as you go about your daily business.

And please remember to always consult a doctor when you deal with any unusual, and especially chronic pain. You don’t want to neglect anything. Medicine has its important place. But so does nutrition and the right life-style. When my doctor can offer no explanation to my sudden migraines except prescribe strong pills (more on this topic next week), I will research alternative ways to help myself through diet and exercise. The meditation I offer here is about a mindset shift and comes with no side-effects, so you lose nothing by trying it, alongside other medical, and non-medical solutions that are already helping you.

And finally, I would love to hear from you on this topic.

Was this meditation helpful to you?

Are there any aspects of your health, relating to yoga and meditation, that you would like me to address in future essays/videos?

Leave a comment

If you would like to receive more yoga videos/ meditations, please consider subscribing to my newsletter. It is free and your support means the world to me.

Be gentle with yourself. Always.

Love,

Imola

Discussion about this podcast

The Art of Lite Living
The Art of Lite Living
Authors
Imola